A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words

In 2008, the Medical University of South Carolina and the disAbility Resource Center collaborated to conduct a community-based, participatory research study called PhotoVoice. I was one of ten individuals with spinal cord injuries who participated in the project where we took photos of how we live each day from a wheelchair. This advocacy project allowed us to educate the community on living with a disability. Each member photographed items that were facilitators and barriers of accessibility.

I took a photo of Calhoun Annex, a building on the College of Charleston campus. Located on the second floor were the radio station and other student media offices; however, there wasn’t an elevator in the building. So, I hosted my show, “The A Train,” from a laptop computer in a remote location. Even though I was able to broadcast my show, it wasn’t the same as being in the studio.

With the support of school administrators and the disability services office, an elevator was installed. This provided access for me and other students and staff with disabilities.

It was a rewarding experience to be in the studio and operate the equipment in the radio station. I also contributed to Cougar Television and the school newspaper, the George Street Observer.

Using photography to send a message is a powerful tool. Please look at the video of some of our photos from the PhotoVoice project.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words

  1. I’m enjoying these posts Alex, thanks for sharing.

    It’s amazing how much you don’t know that you don’t know.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Americans With Disabilities Act Turns 22 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

  3. Pingback: Radio Broadcast is an Outlet for Disability Awareness | Tuesday Talk With Alex

  4. Pingback: A Year of Blogging | Tuesday Talk With Alex

  5. Pingback: Picture-Perfect Parking Placard | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

