Mission Accomplished

Like most children, what I wanted to be when I grew up changed daily, if not several times each day. I wanted to be a police dispatcher, a sports announcer, a hospital administrator and the list went on and on. 

My interests have always been around communication. I knew I wanted a career in media, but wasn’t sure if I could handle the demands of the job. My limited dexterity and the use of only my right arm would make it difficult to operate cameras, microphones and other equipment.

The ADA Lap Desk with camera tripod mount

Fortunately, I came across a device called the ADA Lap Desk that mounts to my wheelchair. I can place different attachments to the desk including a writing surface, an umbrella and a tripod for my camera.

This nifty tool has given me the independence to attach my camera and drive my wheelchair simultaneously. Before I had the lap desk, I would have a difficult time holding the camera and pressing the shutter button at the same time.

The ADA Lap Desk stabilizes the camera while taking the picture

Having access to assistive technology gives me the chance to do things that I enjoy. I often take pictures at family gatherings or when I’m hanging out with friends. It’s exciting to go on photo excursions throughout Charleston. 

My latest photography pow-wow revolved around the South Carolina Republican Primary. I took pictures of political candidates at Medical University of South Carolina and College of Charleston. Look below to see a photo of the media circus from that day.

If there is something that I want to accomplish, I am determined to figure out a way to get it done from my wheelchair. It may take several tries to complete the task, but it’s definitely worth the effort.

Media waits for the arrival of Newt Gingrich

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mission Accomplished

  1. Ann Cario-Hurley says:

    Alex, every time I read something you have written, I stand amazed. You are such an inspiration. Good job.

    Your friend,
    Ann Cario-Hurley

    Like

Leave a Reply

