Making a Lot of Racket on the Tennis Court

Almost any sport can be played from a wheelchair, including basketball, baseball and tennis.  I’ve been playing tennis intermittently for the past few years. Most wheelchair users can play from manual sports wheelchairs. However, I play from my power wheelchair since it’s too difficult for me to push myself in a manual chair.

Since I don’t have the dexterity to grip the racket, I wear a tennis glove to hold the racket for me. Once the racket is strapped in, I can focus on maneuvering my chair and hitting the ball. It took some time getting used to driving my chair and timing my swing to hit the ball, but it’s so much fun to be on the court.

Playing tennis provides great cardio exercise. It’s important for those of us in wheelchairs to get our heart rates accelerated, since we can’t run and do many physically-demanding exercises. I also get to strengthen the range of motion of my arm as I swing to hit the ball. Since playing the game, I’ve noticed that I have more endurance during daily activities. Playing tennis is my way of getting away from the hustle and bustle of life.

Some of the avid wheelchair tennis players compete in the National Wheelchair Tennis Association, which is part of the U.S. Tennis Association. Several years ago, I practiced with a young lady in a wheelchair who was ranked within the top 25 in the country.

I’ve been playing with other folks in wheelchairs. The tennis center held a tennis clinic this past weekend to invite other wheelchair users to give tennis a try. For anyone who is interested in learning to play wheelchair tennis, our first practice for the season will be Wednesday, March 14 at 7 p.m. at Live to Play Tennis Center. The center is located at 1513 Mathis Ferry Road in Mt. Pleasant. To contact Live to Play, call 843-388-0898 and visit their website at www.ltptennis.com.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Making a Lot of Racket on the Tennis Court

  1. john fulton says:

    Alex, you make me look bad, I wish I had half your ambition, proud of you, keep it up….

    Like

  2. Gary Crossley says:

    Alex: Fond memories of playing basketball with you in the driveway across the street from you with Craig! Great article. Gary

    Like

  3. Debbie Hood says:

    Very interesting….I am learning a lot from your articles. Bet you can play tennis way better than I ever could! That was something I was not very good at.

    Like

Leave a Reply

