Wheelin’ Around

My wheelchair is more than a piece of equipment. It’s a major part of my life. If I didn’t have my chair, I would be bedridden and homebound. The chair acts as an extension of my body – it’s my legs that allow me to walk and run.

I received my first power chair when I was four years old. I remember testing out the chair in the parking lot of the wheelchair shop. I enjoyed operating the joystick and having control of where I was going. I told my parents I was born to drive a power chair! 

The first power chair was very bulky and made out of heavy materials. Over the years, the chairs have advanced with more features and are constructed with lighter products.

I can recline and tilt my chair to take pressure off my legs and hips. It’s imperative to prevent pressure sores for those of us who stay in our chairs for long periods of time. 

Another feature that I enjoy is seat elevation. The seat rises about eight inches allowing me to be at eye-level with people who are standing. It also comes in handy to reach things that are in kitchen cabinets and other hard-to-reach places.

These chairs are custom made for each person. The seating system is made to contour our bodies and help with stability. Unfortunately, insurance companies are cutting back on funding for these vital pieces of machinery. It’s important to show the necessity of my wheelchair since it gives me the functionality I need to be a productive citizen.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

