Hotel Hospitality: A Home Away From Home

Traveling and seeing new places is a great way to get away from the daily routine. Going on an excursion can still be done, even with a disability. When planning a trip, you should check out the accessibility of every aspect of the journey, including transportation, lodging and sightseeing. For this blog post, I am focusing on hotel lodging.

My aunt, Katrinda McQueen (from left) my mom, Sherron Jackson and me at the wedding reception.

My aunt, Katrinda McQueen, from left, my mom, Sherron Jackson, and me at the wedding reception.

I was in Decatur, Georgia, which is outside of Atlanta, a few weeks ago for my cousin Trey’s wedding. My mother and I stayed at a Marriott Hotel. The room we stayed in was wheelchair accessible and there was plenty of room to maneuver my chair. Even though the bathroom didn’t have a roll-in shower, the counter and sink were accessible.

The beds were not at the average height of 20-25 inches from the floor. The mattresses were thick which made the bed too high to get into for people who need to transfer from their wheelchairs or anyone who has mobility issues. We notified hotel management and they mentioned the mattresses are new and thicker than the previous mattresses. As a way to overcome this problem, I was able to raise the seat of my chair to be at the same level as the bed.  For people in wheelchairs, you can ask for a hide-away bed if it is difficult to transfer.

Some other accessible features of the room included lever-style handles on all doors. These handles

Lever-style door handle and lowered peep hole make the room more accessible.

Lever-style door handle and lowered peep hole make the room more accessible.

are better than round knobs, making it easier for people with limited hand dexterity to open and close doors. Another added feature is the lowered peep hole, which allows people who are sitting down to see who is knocking at the door.

I enjoyed my trip to Decatur and I’m looking forward to the next outing. Even though every lodging facility will not have all the accommodations to meet everyone’s needs, it’s important to have the basic necessities. I recommend calling ahead to ask about the features of a wheelchair accessible room.

What are some of your experiences with hotel room accessibility? Please feel free to comment.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hotel Hospitality: A Home Away From Home

  1. I could write a book on my experiences……………….! Good job! Had a guy awhile back tell me that he got trapped in his hotel room because the door pressure was too heavy. Might want to ask ahead for the room with the roll-in shower, and ask if they have a pool, if so does it have a pool lift?

    Like

Leave a Reply

