What Would I Do Without Technology?

I’ve been thinking about getting a tablet for a few months. I wanted a device that I could listen to music, check my email, read books and use as a digital photo album. I purchased the Barnes and Noble Nook Color.

One of the reasons I bought the Nook was because I had accumulated a few Barnes and Noble gift cards over the years and needed to use them. I also got the e-reader to see how easy it is to use for a person with limited physical ability. It’s hard for me to hold a book and turn the pages. So, with a flick of my wrist, I can read a book and browse through pictures without any difficulty.

Another piece of technology that’s important for people with disabilities to carry is a cell phone. There have been a number of occasions where I’ve been stranded and wouldn’t have been able to call for help without my phone. My wheelchair has stopped working while I was by myself and I had to call the mechanics to get me rolling again.

I also like that smart phones are essentially mini computers. It’s much easier to store contacts and place events on the calendar. I don’t have to try to balance an address book and Day-Timer on my lap. Sometimes, we depend too much on technology, but I think it comes in handy when we really need it.

How has technology helped you live a more productive life while living with a disability?

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Would I Do Without Technology?

  1. Dr.T says:

    Alex, I am in tears as I leave this reply. Not because of your living with a disability but because of your ABILITY to accomplish some much, and now your ABILITY (and willingness) to reach out to others,,,making a difference in the lives of others. You ‘ve learned and you are reaching out to others. That has always been my goal in life…Learn and reach back to help others. Congrats on all you have accomplished, and I pray that God continues to bless you so that you will continue to bless others! I am now one of your loyal fans, and will follow you each week. (No, I am not a stalker. That was a vicious rumor that Professor Joy Vandervort-Cobb started-smile) Keep on keeping on, and I am Iooking forward to your Tuesday blogs. Dr. Teresa Smith

    Like

Leave a Reply

