Adapted Waterskiing on Lake Moultrie

Have you heard of adapted waterskiing? I hadn’t even heard of it before last year. Yet waterskiing in a seated position makes it possible for someone with a physical disability.

Achieving Wheelchair Equality sponsored the clinic. Volunteers from the Medical University of South Carolina Department of Physical Therapy and Anchors Away, an adapted aquatics program, helped participants with the water activities this past Saturday at Lake Moultrie in Moncks Corner, SC. 

The physical therapy students transferred me into a beach wheelchair and rolled me into the water. From there, I was able to float with my life jacket. The students were with me the entire time to help me float and swim around the lake.

Since I hadn’t waterskied before, I did a safe swim test to make sure I could flip myself onto my back while in the water. I probably could have rolled myself over if I wasn’t getting water up my nose. I didn’t get to ski this time, because I couldn’t pass this swim test. 

Passing the swim test is important because in case I fell off the ski. I would need to flip myself on my back until rescuers arrive. I’m going to get myself ready for the next ski clinic, which will be next summer.

I don’t go swimming often. The last time I went swimming was several years ago at the Vocational Rehabilitation Evaluation Center in Columbia, SC. A pool chair lowered me into the water. I was able to swim the backstroke for a couple laps in the pool with assistance from an aquatics instructor.

I’m hoping to go swimming a few times over the next year to improve my swimming skills and prepare myself to ski next summer.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Adapted Waterskiing on Lake Moultrie

  1. Deborah says:

    Go, Alex! I’m sure you’ll be swimming like a fish in no time.

    Like

  2. Thomas says:

    Noseplug is a must. I also use a wetsuit from my waist down to get some buoancy. Once I got comfortable enough having my face down I went to a snorkel. Used the snorkel to get comfortable with breathing to the side and eventually graduated to regular swimming. I’m no fish but alternating between freestyle and backstroke eventually gets me where I need to be.

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    So glad you had this opportunity Alex. Push Girls is making a wonderful showing of aquatic abilities, even to get into tournaments with swimming. You’re in the spotlight with the Push Girls, and such examples of good effort…

    Like

  4. Caleb Ray says:

    man told you would like it. it is fun maybe you and me next time

    Like

  5. Anytime you want to practice I know where there is a pool lift! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

