A Family Rooted and Grounded in Love

Labor Day weekend isn’t just an extended weekend for my family. It’s the time when my mom’s side of the family, the McQueen family, has its reunion in St. Pauls, North Carolina. Every year, we come from near and far to celebrate our family’s heritage.

My grandfather and his brothers and sisters started the family get-together 37 years ago. We’ve made it a tradition to meet every year. The younger generations are making it a point to keep the tradition alive for many years to come. 

Just because I use a wheelchair, my relatives don’t treat me any differently. There are a few family members with disabilities and we all enjoy being around each other. I have been deemed the official family photographer and go around snapping photos of the festivities.

We spent the weekend at a recreation center where there was food, fun and fellowship. The kids enjoyed playing outside in the jump castle while others stayed inside to play bingo. With a family “rooted and grounded in love,” our annual tradition will continue for generations and generations.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Family Rooted and Grounded in Love

  1. Ann Cario-Hurley says:

    Alex…
    What a wonderful thing family is….a solid tradition that keeps on giving for generations to come. Keep up the good work. I enjoy your page:)

    Ann Cario

    Like

  2. Families are such a blessing. My Mom & Dad had 8 brothers & sisters, so I was blessed with many aunts & uncles. There were get togethers on both sides every year. Large families created much sharing of love. The cousins had small families so this contributed to ending this tradition in this large group. Cousins get together in Florida where my brother lives, so the memories are shared.

    Like

  3. Vernell says:

    I have a statement, “Family who sacrifice the time to come together form unity”. To the McQueen family…. You all have embraced us with love and acceptance. Thank you so much for reaching out to us. The fellowship and food was so awesome. Alex, I am inspired of your life and testimony. I look forward to hearing more on Tuesday Talk WordPress.
    V. J

    Like

Leave a Reply

