Empowered to be a Brave and Confident Leader

The students at Beech Hill Elementary in Summerville, S.C., are living up to their school’s motto to “SHINE” all year long. “SHINE” stands for Safe, Honest, Intelligent, Nurturing and Empowered. The school invited community members to speak on each part of the motto. I was asked to speak about empowerment by one of my high school classmates, Elizabeth Stone, who is a special education teacher at Beech Hill.

The students were taught that a person who is empowered is as a brave and confident leader.  During the morning program, which was broadcasted to all of the classrooms, one of the students interviewed me and asked how I am empowered in the workplace. I mentioned that I feel the most empowered when I can offer assistance to my coworkers to complete a major task.

I’m also empowered when I share my story of living with a disability. I can help others who are going through similar situations. It’s inspiring to see others with disabilities who are going to school and work, supporting their families and living each day to the fullest of their abilities.

After the morning program, I also spoke to a few of the special education classes. It was exciting for me speak to the students at Beech Hill Elementary, but I think the kids were more excited to see my wheelchair. I demonstrated the seat elevation function and all the other bells and whistles of my chair. Many of them were excited to hear how I drive my van to take myself places, including work, school and outings with friends and family.

I know these students will be the next brave and confident leaders who will empower a nation! I am grateful that I had the opportunity to be part of their program.

How are you empowered?

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Empowered to be a Brave and Confident Leader

  1. I wish my son’s school would bring speakers into his school. These kids will grow up more understanding, kinder, more accepting thus wiser because of you sharing your experiences. Well done.

    Like

  2. Amelia Biggs says:

    We are so proud of you and the inspiration you are to others. Keep sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

