Running the Distance for Education!

Lace up your running shoes to run the distance for education! The James Island Connector Run will be held Saturday, November 3 in Charleston, S.C. The race supports the Gavalas-Kolanko Foundation, a scholarship program for students with physical disabilities at College of Charleston and Charleston Southern University.

Mr. Nick Gavalas and Dr. Ron Kolanko co-founded the organization over ten years ago and wanted to “provide education within reach for South Carolina undergraduates pursuing a college education despite physical limitations.” My college career wouldn’t have been so fulfilling without the support of the Foundation. As a result of the scholarship, I was able to take additional courses to enhance my study of communication.

The organization ensures that scholarship participants are involved in the fundraising events held throughout the year. I’ve enjoyed being able to attend the events over that last few years and the opportunity to give back to the Foundation.

To learn more about the Gavalas-Kolanko Foundation, visit www.gkfoundation.org. For more information about the James Island Connector Run, please watch the video below.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

