21st Century Wheelchairs

I can remember my first power wheelchair. I was about four years old and took to my new wheels like I was a race car driver! It wasn’t the fanciest model of chairs, but it gave me mobility.

Over the years, the chairs have been “souped up” with features allowing the wheelchair riders to become more independent. My most recent chairs have had recline and tilt. My favorite feature is the seat elevation. I can raise the seat approximately eight inches taller.

I recently read an article about a new wheelchair that’s being developed in Japan. This chair has robotic legs allowing it to step up on curbs or over obstacles. Users of this new design will be able to move more freely in their community.

It’s exciting to see the newest developments for wheelchairs. It’s like waiting for the latest model of cars to come on the showroom floor. Each added feature provides a little bit more comfort in the way we live our lives.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 21st Century Wheelchairs

  1. Love my new power chair for mobility that’s such a pleasure. The added features provide safety to raise the front of my seat & that angle permits rolling up ramp to enter my van backwards, that’s required, easy, then lock in, transfer to my driver’s seat & I’m off to appointments, shopping & FUN. My hands can’t endure the pain for a manual chair that create cramping & pain. Take my dog, Daisy to walk at dog park 6 miles an hour for 3 miles & LOVE the outdoors… LOVE MY CHAIR…

    Like

Leave a Reply

