Rolling, Rolling, Rolling

Over 1,000 people ran, walked, biked and even pushed their wheelchairs across the James Island Connector Run this past Saturday. The Charleston community came out to support the Gavalas-Kolanko Foundation and set a new attendance record.

I drove my wheelchair in the race along with some others in the race. It was my first time on the race course and I completed the 10K trek in 1:14:44. What was even more remarkable was that two of the wheelchair basketball players pushed their manual chairs up and down the hills of the bridge in a little over an hour.

It was great to be among the crowd as they supported a scholarship fund for students with physical disabilities. I’m looking forward to next year’s race and hope I will beat this year’s time!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rolling, Rolling, Rolling

  1. JOHN FULTON says:

    Good for you Alex. Keep up the good work in life and on your Blog….

    Like

  2. Lana Nelson says:

    So Very Inspiring! Love reading your Tuesday Talks! Keep it up!

    Like

  3. Marnette Bowen says:

    Awesome Alex! I am impressed! You are making your life such a wonderful success. You are an inspiration to all of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

