Leading the Way!

My involvement with the group called the Young Adult Leadership Initiative is helping change my perception of the world. The members of the group are striving to help young people with disabilities in South Carolina develop skills to help them succeed. Advocacy and empowerment are among the assets that can be gained, both personally and professionally.

The group advisor is LaMondre Pough, a disability advocate who uses a power wheelchair. He sees the abilities of each individual and encourages everyone to focus on their strengths. As a result of the organization, young leaders have been able to attend  conferences and overcome the obstacles of flying on a plane with a disability.

Since the group has noted that transportation is integral to living more independently, the members are in the process of creating a transportation documentary showcasing the need for accessible public and private transportation. 

The film will feature the stories of individuals who use various means of transportation including buses, paratransit and private vehicles. Without the equipped vehicles, people wouldn’t be able to go to work, go to school and spend time with friends and family. In addition to those who rely on the transportation, the service providers will share their experiences of improving mobility for everyone.

I’ve learned a lot about disability awareness from my peers while being part of the Young Adult Leadership Initiative.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

