Having a Back-up Plan

When you rely on technology as much as I do, it’s important to have alternative plans when something goes wrong. Between the high-tech features on my wheelchair and in my van, I always have a back-up plan.

I had to take my van to Handicapped Driver Services & Mobility for maintenance in Marietta, Georgia a few days before Thanksgiving. Since the joystick system is the highest level of adapted driver’s equipment, there are only a few places around the country that are able to service the equipment. Unfortunately, the repairs will take a few weeks.

Fortunately, my back-up plan is using my mom’s ramp van. I’m back to the days where I’m the co-pilot and sitting on the passenger side of the vehicle. Even though it takes some adjustments to our schedules, I’m glad we have a back-up vehicle.

I recommend that those of us with wheelchairs and other assistive technology have an alternate plan in place in case their current piece of technology breaks down.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Having a Back-up Plan

  1. mv1kg says:

    This is a great idea !!! Thanksfor sharing Alex!!!

    Like

  2. Caleb Ray says:

    well said brother sorry to hear you got to ride with your mom for a little bit, but you do haver her to
    help you out

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    This is such good information. The better the planning the more our lives aren’t affected with disappointment.

    Like

  4. Alex, you have always had the fortitude and cerebral firepower to know that everyone should have a Plan B! It just makes life easier if you already have that in mind. Russell and I use to laugh if Plan B did not exactly go as “planned” and we use to have a saying,”well this is another fine mess we have gotten ourselves into!:” And it always worked out in the end..
    you can always call me and I mean it most sincerely! Hope your holidays are as happy as you are!

    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

