Navigating the Public Transportation System

Since my van will be in the shop for a few weeks, I’ve been looking into alternate modes of transportation. I thought this would be as good a time as any to explore the accessibility of the Charleston Area Regional Transportation Authority (CARTA) bus routes. 

It was a chilly Friday morning when I made the trek in my wheelchair to the Route 10 CARTA bus stop on Meeting Street. I was on my way to the disAbility Resource Center in North Charleston. I wasn’t sure what to expect. All kinds of questions were running through my mind. Would it be easy for the driver to tie down my chair? Will my transfer to the next bus be seamless?

The stairs to get on the bus turn into a wheelchair lift, which extends to the ground allowing me to board the vehicle. Once I’m on the bus, I can drive my chair to the designated wheelchair tie-down location. Fortunately, the driver was able to connect my chair to the locking system without any problems. 

We cruised along Meeting Street, picking up passengers along the way. The bus was quite full as we arrived to my transfer point: the Super Stop on Rivers Avenue. From there, I hopped on Route 11 to go on Dorchester Road.  When we arrived at my stop, the bus driver pulled off to the side of the road to operate the lift and let me out. I was only a few yards away from my final destination.

I’m grateful for the ability to use accessible public transportation. It’s good to know when my main mode of transportation isn’t working, there’s a way to get around.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Navigating the Public Transportation System

  1. Please be careful! Until our sidewalks and bus stops are ADA Compliant, there are always great risks from just crossing the street. The more we ride, the more they’ll realize this. Better leadership now with CARTA, so at least I’m optimistic!

    Like

  2. We’re working on better bus stops now East of the Cooper. We just issues three pages of recommendations on the new bus routes being proposed. The next CARTA Board Meeting is December 21 and we plan to be there. http://www.busec.org

    Like

  3. CORRECTION- Next CARTA Board meeting is December 19. Previous post is in error. They Mayan Zombie Apocalypse is on December 21. If we were sure about that event, we could probably skip the CARTA board meeting on the 19th. Details reports and agends are posted on their website a few days before the meeting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

