The Adventures of the Tortoise and the Hare

This past weekend, I had quite the interesting ride in my wheelchair. I felt that I was the tortoise in the story of The Tortoise and the Hare. My wheelchair would only go one mile per hour!

The tilt actuator, which allows me to recline and tilt the seat, stopped working and forced the chair to be driven at its lowest speed. I’m used to going full speed all the time, so it was a drastic change in speed when I couldn’t travel at a faster speed. The wheelchair is an extension of my body. Without my wheelchair, I would not be able to do much of anything.

The mechanics from Pharmaceutical Health Care came to my rescue. The guys from PHC have worked on all of my power chairs over the years. They were able to bring a loaner wheelchair for me to use while they worked on my chair.

In addition to not having my own wheels, I can’t drive my van from the borrowed wheelchair because there isn’t the same tie-down system on this chair. Despite the mobility challenges, I’ve been able to work from home. My supervisor and co-workers have been supportive throughout this adventure.

Hopefully, within the next week, I’ll be able to get my wheels and get back up to speed on living my life to the fullest!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Adventures of the Tortoise and the Hare

  1. Maria Garcia says:

    Wow 😦 We take things for granted. We fail to realize that everything works like a puzzle and every size does not fit all. Hang in there, keep strong, as you always do. This week should go by quickly. You are one amazing person!!!

    Like

  2. Jane says:

    Like your chair, my car is also in this shop this week. Good thing we are on spring break! It’s good to slow down from time to time.

    Like

  3. Shelton says:

    Hope to see you soon!

    Like

  4. cmalcolm55 says:

    Wow that’s a bummer. I can relate because when my car is not working properly, I get so far in the dumps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

