A Spirit Rooted in Faith

While living with a spinal cord injury, I’ve had the support of many family and friends. My church family has also been supportive over the years. Encountering a life-altering event such as a spinal cord injury may cause you to ask why did this happen. At times, there is a lot to endure while undergoing the physical and emotional strains of a disability, but I remain focused on my faith in God to get me through the tough times.

I heard a preacher say recently that we have circumstances in our lives, but it’s up to us as to how we live with those circumstances. I don’t dwell on the things I’m not able to do, but grateful for my abilities. I can’t control that I was injured, but I have to live the best life possible.

I have turned what could be considered a negative situation into a positive outcome. I believe it is my purpose to be an advocate for myself and others who are living with disabilities. Knowing that I have so many compassionate and caring people in my life allows me to keep smiling and remain uplifted.

The book of Hebrews states, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Keep the faith and remain strong!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Spirit Rooted in Faith

  1. A. Cario-Hurley says:

    Alex…I know your sweet spirit and want you to know that your message is exactly what I needed today…As I have said so many times, you inspire me to be better than I am….God be with you.
    You are such a blessing to so many.

    Like

  2. Shelton says:

    Keep the faith. Keeping you and yours in my thoughts.

    Like

  3. Eric Brown says:

    Alex if anyone a witness to that is me. At our church we didnot stop you from particapating with us at at all.boyscout, choir etc you was there. Yiu have proven no matter what you can dk it.

    Like

  4. Caleb says:

    Hey man i think this topic is great stay on the road brother

    Like

Leave a Reply

