Voting Continues for Local Hero Gene Reese

A few weeks ago, I featured in a blog post Gene Reese and Rob Duckworth, two Charleston-area local heroes who are hoping to win a new wheelchair-accessible van. I’m giving each of these heroes a week of their own on my blog.

Gene Reese shared why he is in need of a new vehicle in a recent Post and Courier article. He appreciates his family and friends who have been by his side. Gene shows his gratitude by giving of his time and attention to his church family and the disability community.

In the news article, Gene talks about how he wanted to learn how to drive after his accident. He overcame the challenges and learned to drive a van with hand controls. It’s all the more reason Gene wants to win the competition; he wants to have a safe, reliable ride that allows him to continue serving his community!

As of today, Gene has 2,089 votes. Go to http://www.mobilityawarenessmonth.com/entrant/gene-reese-goose-creek-sc/ to cast your ballot.

To read the Post and Courier article, visit http://www.postandcourier.com/article/20130428/PC1204/130429274/1268/goose-creek-man-paralyzed-in-deadly-drunk-driving-crash-competes-in-local-hero-contest&source=RSS.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

