Having Fun in the Sun with Adapted Water Skiing

I hope everyone had a fun, safe Memorial Day weekend. Let us remember to recognize and honor the brave men and women of our military, past and present, not just on Memorial Day, but every day! 

Memorial Day marks the unofficial beginning of summer and it’s the time of year where people begin to have fun in the sun. Achieving Wheelchair Equality, Charleston’s adapted sporting group, and the Department of Physical Therapy from MUSC host the Adapted Water Ski Clinic.

Adapted Water Skiing Chair

Adapted Water Skiing Chair

If you haven’t seen adapted water skiing before, it’s one of the most exciting activities to do on the water. There is a ski chair that allows the rider to sit while being pulled by the boat. Physical therapists are on-hand to assist with the swim safety test and transferring to and from the skis. 

Preparing to get into the water with assistance from physical therapy students

Preparing to get into the water with assistance from physical therapy students

I attempted to ski last year, but didn’t have enough strength to flip myself on my back as part of the ski safety training. I may give it a try again this year. Even if I don’t ski, it will be fun just to be in the water.

There will be two clinics held this summer: June 8 and July 20. Both events will take place at Lion’s Beach in Moncks Corner, SC. To register for either clinic, download the participant or volunteer forms. Today is the last day to register for the June 8 clinic.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Having Fun in the Sun with Adapted Water Skiing

Leave a Reply

