Putting a Spin on Wheelchair Basketball

Are you ready for some wheelchair basketball? The MUSC Department of Physical Therapy students are putting a twist on the game.  Shots With A Spin allows able-bodied players to experience playing basketball from a wheelchair. It’s exciting to see the players push their chairs down the court, dribble the ball, shoot and score!

For the second year, the tournament serves as a fundraiser for Achieving Wheelchair Equality, a nonprofit group that provides equal access to recreational activities for people with disabilities. The event will be held Saturday, June 15 at 9 a.m. at Deas Hall on The Citadel campus in Charleston. 

In addition to watching the games, there will be an informational fair featuring many organizations from around the state that provide products and services to the disability community. An adaptive auto show will be on display showcasing a variety of hand-controlled driving systems. I will have my van in the show to show off the joystick driving controls.

For more info about Shots With A Spin, see the event flyer!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Putting a Spin on Wheelchair Basketball

  1. Reblogged this on lifegoeson4us and commented:
    Very cool…the Mauldin Maulers do that with wheelchair softball. Great fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

