Shots With A Spin: Year 2 Recap

Halo Restaurant (blue-green shirts) played against Department of Physical Therapy (yellow shirts)

Halo Restaurant (blue-green shirts) played against Department of Physical Therapy (yellow shirts)

I think it’s fair to say that we had a blast at the second annual Shots With A Spin wheelchair basketball tournament this past weekend! Several local businesses created teams to play in the tournament and take a shot at wheelchair basketball. All of the proceeds benefited Achieving Wheelchair Equality (AWE), which helps build ramps and provides accessible sporting activities for people with disabilities.

In addition to shooting hoops, the informational fair provided attendees an opportunity to meet representatives from many organizations including Palmetto Animal Assistance and Life Services (PAALS), Floyd Brace Company, Limbs Without Limits and the South Carolina Spinal Cord Injury Association. 

Marka Danielle having fun using the quad grip for playing tennis

Marka Danielle having fun using the quad grip to play tennis

Wheelchair tennis demonstrations were held along with an auto show featuring the greatest in adapted driving controls. An obstacle course was set up to help individuals without disabilities understand how to maneuver wheelchairs through doorways and navigating ramps.

Shots With A Spin would not have been possible without the dedication of the MUSC Department of Physical Therapy Class of 2014. Physical therapy student, Wade Harrell, said, “it’s been a pleasure to work with the members of AWE to make this event possible.  The services they provide to the Charleston community are incredibly important. There is no doubt that my experiences with AWE have made me a better student, and will make me a better physical therapist in the future!”

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

