Spinal Cord Injury Peer Navigator Project

When living with a spinal cord injury, there are many health issues that can occur as a result of the injury, including pressure sores and urinary tract infections.

Dr. Susan Newman, from MUSC’s College of Nursing, is conducting a research study to determine if peer support is the most effective way to educate people with an injury to better navigate the healthcare system.

Marka Danielle Rodgers is an incomplete C3-C7 quadriplegic and will be one of two mentors for this project.

To find out more about this study, watch the video below with Dr. Newman and Marka as they talk about the project.

http://youtu.be/rRx9daIRwLI

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinal Cord Injury Peer Navigator Project

  1. Susan Newman says:

    Thanks for spreading the word about our work, Alex! We truly hope our study can have a positive effect on people’s lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

