Adaptive Water Skiing on Lake Moultrie

On Saturday, Achieving Wheelchair Eqaulity and Anchors Away held the second and final adaptive water ski clinic of the summer on Lake Moultrie.

People from all over the Lowcountry came out to enjoy a day on the water. Some participants were amputees while others had spinal cord injuries. Regardless of the disability, everyone was included in the water sports.

Students from MUSC’s Department of Physical Therapy assisted with transferring people to and from the skis. It’s not only a learning environment for the students, but it’s educational for the participants too.

It’s remarkable to see someone getting in the water for the first time since living with their disability. The freedom of being out of the wheelchair for a few moments is a sight to see. Don’t let your disability stop you from living your life!

Click on the video link below to see highlights from the ski clinic. Video is courtesy of Win Gasperson.

https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10200650216872731

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adaptive Water Skiing on Lake Moultrie

  1. Ann Cario-Hurley says:

    WOW…what an awesome thing….Go Alex!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

