Teaching Kids About Disabilities

As a child of the ‘80s, I enjoyed watching reruns of “Kids Say the Darndest Things”. I think of that show when I get questions from children asking me about my wheelchair and disability.

I’ve always enjoyed talking with children about my disability. They ask some of the greatest questions like “Where can I get one of those wheelchairs?” and “How fast does it go?”

I showed off my wheelchair to some of the children at Vacation Bible School a couple weeks ago. One young boy pretended he was pushing me as I drove around. My across-the-street neighbors have taught their kids about disability awareness issues. Their children help classmates with disabilities when assistance is needed.

Tiffany Carlson, of The Mobility Resource, shared some questions that children often ask. It’s a great way for their inquiring minds to learn more about the people around them.

To read Tiffany’s article, go to
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/02/disability-awareness-parents-teach-kids_n_3696279.html.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teaching Kids About Disabilities

  1. Mihal, Deborah F says:

    This is so awesome, Alex!! I’m going to send out the HP article once the semester starts….

    Deborah

    Deborah Freel Mihal, MSW
    Director, Center for Disability Services
    A MEMBER OF THE DIVISION OF STUDENT AFFAIRS
    Lightsey Center, Suite 104
    843.953.1431

    Like

Leave a Reply

