Sports Announcer Uses His Disability to Educate

            For those who follow me on Facebook may know that I’m a big Atlanta Braves Fan. Not only is it exciting to live in Braves Country, but it’s also exciting to see the Braves have a 15.5 game lead in National League East.

            Jason Benetti, of New York, shares my love for the game. Benetti is a play-by-play announcer for the Syracuse Chiefs.  If you heard him on the radio, you wouldn’t know he has Cerebral Palsy (CP). CP causes weakness of muscles in the extremities.

            Regardless of the challenges, Benetti enjoys interviewing players and spending time around the baseball stadium. When he’s not broadcasting, Benetti works with children who use assistive technology to communicate as part of the Communication Hope through Assistive Technology Program.

            Benetti’s story reminds me of my days of announcing for the Charleston Miracle League and being a disc jockey on College of Charleston Radio. I’m grateful to be able to use my talents and share them with my listeners.

            It’s remarkable to see someone turn their trials into triumphs. My slogan is “living with a disability and a purpose,” Benetti is certainly living his life to the greatest. I think it’s safe to say that we are both using our broadcasting skills to educate the world about living with disabilities.

            CNN’s Dr. Sanjay Gupta interviewed Benetti recently. Please watch the video below. 

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/14/health/human-factor-jason-benetti/

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

