The World of Wheelchair Travel

Ashley Olson, from the Wheelchair Traveling blog, visited Charleston, S.C., earlier this year and shared her experiences of accessibility as a tourist. I shared Ashley’s travel guide for people with disabilities who visit the Lowcountry.

Ashley has been working on a video to educate everyone about the possibilities of traveling domestically and internationally with a disability. The 20-minute documentary features people with a variety of disabilities who have traveled to a number of   destinations all over the world.

These travelers describe how to board an airplane using an aisle chair,  how to ensure your hotel room is wheelchair accessible and how to handle the terrain in more remote locations.

While I haven’t traveled outside of the United States, I’m honored to have my photo featured in the video (three-minute mark). It’s exciting that Ashley has created this visual presentation to show how to make traveling with a disability a bit easier. Hopefully, this will encourage others to get out of their comfort zone and explore the world around them!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The World of Wheelchair Travel

  1. barbdelia says:

    Great info so I need to brave it out.. Thanks Alex

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Shelton says:

    Great post

    Like

  3. Aunt Kathy says:

    Rockstar!

    Like

  4. Of course I had to add my two cents worth. Nice report, in a very southern kind of way….
    “Ashley, your comments regarding this historical city were very kind. Progress has been made, but a lot more needs to be done. I am happy that you made the most out of your visit. All of the Black Cabs are accessible for most wheelchair users. Although some larger power wheelchairs may not fit and they may only be able to accommodate one wheelchair user. Airport transportation has been a real nightmare for many. Few hotels offer accessible transportation. Sidewalks are better than they were in 1990 when I first became an advocate, but as you said, the streets are generally your best bet. The broken slate and uneven sidewalks are flat out dangerous for those who can walk as well. Angel oak had an accessible restroom inside the gift shop. The people of Charleston are incredibly nice, but they do not fully understand that ‘carrying’ someone into a building or onto a boat is not equal access. The surrounding plantations are beautiful, but again surface materials are far from compliant. Charlestowne Landing and a short drive to Brookgreen Gardens are your best bet. PS Charleston’s best kept secret is that all of the parking garages have nice accessible bathrooms. Thanks for your honest review. It is a beautiful, yet difficult, place to live or visit with a disability. Unfortunately, you do need to call ahead. If you drive to Charleston, please keep in mind that more accessible parking is desperately needed.” ~ Brenda Parent, Access to the Garden

    Like

  5. ahellams says:

    This is so awesome Alex. There are endless possibilities. I continue to learn so much from you and can’t wait to bring that knowledge to more people in the future!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

