Support the Gavalas-Kolanko Foundation

Hundreds of people will be walking, running and biking across the
James Island Connector November 1. Not only is it a great way to
exercise, but it’s a great way to see one of the best views of
Charleston, S.C.

The race is the flagship fundraiser for the Gavalas-Kolanko
Foundation. Fifteen years ago, co-founders Dr. Ron Kolanko and Nick
Gavalas created an organization to serve a portion of the population
that was underrepresented – students with physical disabilities with
aspirations of earning a college degree.

For many students with disabilities, there are additional expenses
required. For instance, I had to keep my wheelchair in tip-top shape
as I navigated around the flooded streets and traveled the bumpy,
brick sidewalks of the College of Charleston campus.

The Foundation helped me pursue my dreams as I earned my degree in
Media Studies Communication. Now, I’m in my final year in the Master
of Arts in Communication at the College. I’m also working in the
Public Affairs Office for the Space and Naval Warfare Command
(SPAWAR).

Your participation in the James Island Connector Run not only supports
the Gavalas-Kolanko Foundation, but it helps students achieve their
life-long dreams!

The James Island Connector Run will be held Saturday, Nov. 2. To
register, go to http://www.jicrun.com.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

