The Mishaps When Driving A Power Chair

It’s nice when you can keep all four wheels on the ground. However,
there are inevitably going to be those times where your wheels lose
contact with the ground and you come tumbling down.

That’s what happened to me Saturday. While taking pictures at the
James Island Connector Run, I wasn’t paying attention to where I was
going and hit a pothole and flipped over my chair into a puddle of
water.

It felt like I was falling in slow motion. I could feel myself
falling, but knew I couldn’t do anything to stop it from happening.
All I could think about was, “Help! I’ve fallen and can’t get back
up!”

Fortunately, there were people around me who were there to help me get
up. I can’t thank them enough for coming to my rescue! It’s not easy
trying to pick up a 200-pound wheelchair. I wasn’t injured in the
incident, but my wheelchair and camera had some damage.

I am also grateful for the wheelchair mechanic that came to look at my
chair within an hour after my fall. The wheelchair team was able
to get my chair fixed yesterday.

So, the moral of this story is to avoid potholes and stay away from
puddles of water!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Mishaps When Driving A Power Chair

  1. bowenm2013 says:

    I saw you in that “Lake” of dirty tidal water surrounding by James Island Connector race runners, who all stopped to keep you from drowning. That’s one way to meet new friends! I loved participating in this fantastic benefit race. I will encourage everyone I know to participate next year to help support the Gavalas-Kolanko Fund that benefits disabled students. There is no worthier cause. http://www.gkfoundation.org
    So happy you enjoyed your swim, Alex.

    Like

  2. Ann Cario-Hurley says:

    Gee Alex…thank goodness you are OK…you stay clear of those potholes:) All is well that ends well.(It is said) Were you able to salvage your camera?

    Like

  3. Caleb Ray says:

    sorry to hear you went down man but, glad your back up burn rubber not your soul baby

    Like

  4. T.A. Singletary says:

    Glad you’re OK.

    Like

  5. lemon says:

    I Vote against puddles!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

