Trekking Around Town with Tel-A-Ride

Since putting my van in the shop last week, I’m relying on Tel-A-Ride, Charleston’s para transit company.

Para transit systems provide door-to-door service for multiple passengers at once. For me; however, I live just outside of their pick-up zone. So, I have chosen to meet the bus at Bi-lo, which is about a mile from my house.

Once on the bus, it could take 60 to 90 minutes to get to your destination. We’re picking up and dropping off folks along the way.

Yesterday was my first time using the service. I’m proud to say they got me to and from my destinations on time.

Pros and Cons to Para Transit

It’s nice to only pay $3.50 per ride. It’s more affordable for people with low incomes. Door-to-door service is convenient when it’s within their service area.

Some downsides are that you have to schedule rides at least two days in advance. There is a 30-minute window to be picked up. You may have to ride on the bus for up to 90 minutes before getting to your destination.

Overall, I’m grateful to be able to use the service to get me around town.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trekking Around Town with Tel-A-Ride

  1. In the first place Alex, I think it is criminal that CARTA underwent changes within their fixed route which directly affected those dependent on para-transit as well without adequate public notice of such route changes drastically reducing Para-transit service to many. You, me and at least two other people in my neighborhood alone were affected. If you couldn’t get to the BiLo, you would be stuck at home. I moved to my neighborhood based on the fact that I was within the service area. It is an absolute disgrace that those who depend on the service are now left without adequate transportation. Our Mayors should be ashamed of themselves. I think the overall disrepair of our sidewalks makes riding the fixed route service impossible for many. When it comes to scheduling para-transit, Tel-A-Ride has strict ADA federal regulations to follow. They simply cannot require you to call two days in advance. Travel times while riding the para-transit bus cannot be excessive either. Another ADA requirement requires strict adherence to a maximum ride time policy making the time comparable to that of riding the fixed route bus service. My best to you in getting your van repaired in a timely manner and for keeping your spirits high.

    Like

  2. Shelton says:

    Good write up. See at the bus and be safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

