The Beat Goes On: Drumming through Adversity

While watching NBC’s The Voice last night, I noticed the drummer that was playing during the first song only had one arm.

Rick Allen is his name and he has been the long-time drummer for the Rock group Def Leppard. Even before losing his left arm in a car accident in 1984, Allen was a drummer for the band.

Despite the adversities faced with losing a limb, he figured out a way to still do what he loves. A drum kit was designed for Allen to play the snare drum with his feet by using the hi-hat pedals.

His tenacity and perseverance are reasons why he is successful. He enjoys speaking wounded warriors and showing them that dreams can become realities. Allen said, “My desire is to encourage a support system for warriors, de-stigmatize PTSD, share their stories and offer alternative ways to pave the road to resiliency and health.”

The lesson we can all learn from Allen is that the beat must go on, no matter what life brings our way!

Take a look at this news story and video about Allen’s accident.  http://ultimateclassicrock.com/def-leppard-rick-allen-car-crash-1984/

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Beat Goes On: Drumming through Adversity

  1. Lana Nelson says:

    Diversity does lead to learning and understanding. Or SHOULD lead? Nice article, Alex.

    Like

Leave a Reply

