Project Ubuntu: Turning Dr. King’s Dream Into Reality

As we celebrated the life of the civil rights leader yesterday, many people marched in parades and quoted lines from Dr. King’s monologues as a way to remember the March on Washington and his “I Have A Dream” speech.

 

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “Everyone can be great because anyone can serve.” The national holiday is a day of service to those in our communities. Daniel Becton, of Project Ubuntu, exceeded the one day of service by turning it into an entire year of service. 

From August 26, 2012 to August 24, 2013, Daniel traveled to every state to work with organizations that promoted youth involvement, music education and disability awareness. Project Ubuntu visited the disAbility Resource Center in North Charleston during week 17 of the trip. You may recall my blog post about Daniel’s stop in the Lowcountry.

 

Dr. King inspired a generation when he said, “Life’s most persistent and urgent question is: What are you doing for others?” In honor of Dr. King’s legacy, Project Ubuntu released a video highlighting the year-long process.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

