Chuck Close: From Painting to Photography

No matter the obstacles we face in life, we can still enjoy doing things we love. Chuck Close reminds us of that when you see him painting murals or photographing celebrities.

Last year, I wrote a blog post and shared a video that aired on CBS about how Close paints large, wall-sized pieces of artwork. He has not let his disability hinder him from creating such masterpieces.

In fact, his creativity has crossed over into the world of photography. Vanity Fair did a feature about Close showcasing his passion for photography. Close has photographed celebrities using a 20×24 inch polaroid camera.

The unique part is that these portraits, of such people like Brad Pitt and Oprah Winfrey, were taken without the subjects wearing any make-up or dressed in fancy attire.

Close says that he may be criticized for not making people look glamorous, but others others will say, “Thank God somedody shows people as real people, the way they are.”

I’d have to agree! There’s more to people than being famous. I think it’s nice to see celebrities outside of the glitz and glamour of Hollywood.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chuck Close: From Painting to Photography

  1. My kind of photographer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

