The Final Military Salute: A Tribute to My Grandfather

My grandfather, Sgt. First Class (Ret.) Neal A. McQueen

Sgt. First Class (Ret.) Neal A. McQueen

After serving more than 24 years in the United States Army, my grandfather, Sgt. First Class (Ret.) Neal A. McQueen, was laid to rest last week in Augusta, Georgia. He was an instructor in the Signal Corps at Ft. Gordon Army Base and did tours of duty all around the world.

My grandfather was a faithful member of the Masons. He served more than 55 years within the organization and attained the highest office of the order: Most Worshipful Grand Master, Prince Hall Masons, Jurisdiction of Georgia. 

His dedication to the military and Masons were just as strong as the love he had for his family. My grandmother, Doris McQueen, and their four daughters (Sherron, Katrinda, Phyllis and Pam) were able to travel with him overseas. I remember hearing stories about them visiting Taipei, Taiwan, which is where my Aunt Phyllis was born.

Some of my fondest memories are when we’d all get together for the McQueen Family Reunion in North Carolina. The reunion has been an annual tradition that’s lasted more than 30 years. Granddad was known as the “Lemonade Man.” He made freshly-squeezed lemonade to quench our thirst after playing in the sweltering summer sun! 

Our immediate family would get together for birthdays and nearly every holiday: Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. I will always cherish the memories we had together.

At his funeral, he was given military honors, complete with a 21-gun salute and the playing of Taps. I’m proud to be a part of this family and see his legacy live through future generations.

 

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Final Military Salute: A Tribute to My Grandfather

  1. Diane Epperly says:

    Alex, what a nice tribute to your grandfather.

    Like

  2. vaughn postema says:

    I think it’s awesome that you took the time to honor your grandfather! It sounds like he lived a fulfilled life which is something that most people never obtain. Great post!

    Like

  3. Dea. Gene Reese says:

    Alex, glad to here that all went well ,we pray that you keep good memory of your grandfather in your heart, I too am a master mason ,past master in s.c stay strong my friend….

    Like

  4. April Bowman says:

    My condolences to your mom and you. “Service is the rent we pay for having the privilege to live on this earth.” Your granddad has built a legacy and stood on that commitment. My thanks to him and your family for “serving.” Alex, your mom and you have a special place in my family’s heart because of what you do daily. Love you and I am praying for you. April Bowman

    Like

  5. Daviod R. McElfresh says:

    Alex,

    Thanks for sharing about your grandfather Sgt. First Class (Ret) Neal A. McQueen. He had a remarkable career.

    David McElfresh

    Like

  6. Katrinda says:

    After having four daughters I know how proud he was to have a grandson. As you grew up, I know even more how proud he was of the young man you have become and ALL of your accomplishments. I now know he is in heaven, continuing to cheer you on and brag about his grandson Alex!

    Like

  7. Joe Sampson says:

    Alex, you know that you and your family will always be dear to me. Your grandfather and I always enjoyed the holiday parties at the Signal Towers while we worked together from 1986 – 1989. I enjoyed the times my wife and I spent at his home with your grandmother also. I truly love your family and the wonderful things you all do to help mankind. Keep up the great work. I know your grandfather, my friend will always be in our hearts. He was a true Saint.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Blog Posts of 2014 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

