Abilities Expo 2014 in Atlanta, Georgia

The Abilities Expo is a traveling show that goes around the country to big cities like Atlanta, Houston, Los Angeles and New York. The event showcases products and services to people with disabilities.

I just spent this past weekend at the Expo in Atlanta. The event is completely free and you do not have to have a disability to attend. My Aunt, Phyllis, and cousin, Brandon, went along with me on the trip.

The Permobil wheelchair manufacturing company was on-hand  to do tune-ups on wheelchairs. I received four new tires plus I was able to “pimp my ride” with some shiny red hubcaps. The cool part about it was that everything was free.

Shiny, new hubcaps on my wheelchair.

Shiny, new hubcaps on my wheelchair.

There were accessible vehicles, including an accesible pickup truck. I know I’ve mentioned the truck on my blog before, but it’s so cool that I had to mention it again.

Touch the Future was one of the organizations that provides computers, adapted keyboards and other assistive technology for people with a range of disabilies.

The Walk and Roll Dance Team performed some routines to songs by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. They certainly got the crowd dancing and groovin’ to the beat.

Chelsea, from the Walk and Roll Dance Team, and Alex

Chelsea, from the Walk and Roll Dance Team, and Alex

I met up with a friend, Jarae Anderson, who is from South Carolina. She enjoyed the Expo and looks forward to attending the event again next year.

If you’ve never been to an Abilities Expo, it’s definitely something you have to check out! Go to www.abilititiesexpo.com to see when the Abilities Expo is coming to a city near you.

The video below recaps all the fun!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abilities Expo 2014 in Atlanta, Georgia

  1. Sandra says:

    Hi Alex:

    I will be attending the Houston expo with my disabled mother and aunt. Are there any particular workshops and/or services that you recommend?

    Like

    • Hi. Thanks for your question. The Abilities Expo is a great event. I know there was a session today on tips for traveling with a disability. I’m not sure if you had a chance to attend that presentation. There are a number of vendors available that will be glad to talk with you about their products and services. Let me know if I can be of further assistance. Have fun at the Expo!

      Like

Leave a Reply

