Technology Tips When Living With A Disability

Within the 27 years of my life, I’ve seen advancements in technology with wheelchairs, vehicles, computers and even mobile devices like tablets and cell phones. We live in a world where technology can help us find information quickly and be more efficient…most of the time.

 If you’re like me, I enjoy learning about latest inventions. They are not only fun, but, sometimes, they are practical for people with disabilities. For instance, cell phones and tablets have made it easier to live with a disability.

 I recently transitioned to be an iPhone user. I have the iPhone 5c and have appreciated the features of that phone that aren’t as readily available on other devices. Siri has become my personal assistant. I can have her read text messages aloud and add items to my calendar.

Tuesday Talk With Alex QR Code

Tuesday Talk With Alex QR Code

 Another one of my favorite features is using Quick Response (QR) codes. I’m sure you’ve seen these codes in printed ads, on T.V. and in the windows of store fronts. (The code to my blog is on the right.) With a QR Code Reader app, you can scan the barcode-like image and it will take you to the website or provide the information associated with that code.

 This app saves a lot of time and energy when you don’t have the ability to jot down any information. I downloaded the free “QRReader” App from the Apple Store. There are a number of apps available free of charge that are beneficial for people with different disabilities.

 I will be sharing these tips and more at the Assistive Technology Expo in Columbia, S.C., tomorrow. I will be on a panel with Clay Jeffcoat from the South Carolina School for Deaf and Blind. Our presentation is from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

 If you’re in the area, stop by the Brookland Banquet and Conference Center (1066 Sunset Blvd.) in West Columbia. The event is from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and is free and open to the public.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

