The Spotlight Shines on Charleston in New Mobility Magazine

It seems as though Charleston, S.C. is always headlining magazines and newspapers for its beautiful beaches and fine cuisine. Well, I felt it was time for the disability community to get in on some of the action.

I was asked to feature my hometown in New Mobility Magazine. In the article, I shared places that I like to visit like spending time at Brittlebank Park. I also talked about the importance of accessible transportation. While I wouldn’t rank Charleston as the most accessible city, there have been some improvements over the years.

Members of the disability community want to have the same amount of access as anyone else. Through advocacy, people can have their voices heard to create change. It’s a coincidence that my story was published in this month’s issue of the magazine. On May 8, people with disabilities from around South Carolina will be going to the State House to advocate for access and independence. I will be among about a dozen other speakers who will be talking about issues related to transportation, healthcare and education.

I believe we can all make a difference; we just have to find our voice and speak up!

To read my article in New Mobility Magazine, go to http://www.newmobility.com/2014/05/nscia-south-carolina/. My story is the second story on the page.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Spotlight Shines on Charleston in New Mobility Magazine

  1. Diane Epperly says:

    Just got my edition and read the article. Good job!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Blog Posts of 2014 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

