Reflecting on Life as a College of Charleston Student

I’m still trying to recover from all of the festivities from this past weekend! It was filled with Advocacy Day at the State House, the WIND Conference and graduation day!!

I’m excited to have completed my Master’s Degree in Communication from the College of Charleston. The program was rigorous, but well worth the effort. I appreciated combining my interests of communication with disability awareness. I’ve been able to take the research I learned and apply it to activities happening within the disability community.

My career at the “College of Knowledge” would not have been possible without the support of the faculty and staff. From my very first days as a freshman, the Center for Disability Services office helped make sure that I was able to have access to all of the programs and services offered by the College.

Broadcasting on College of Charleston Radio gave me the confidence and voice to be an advocate for myself and the disability community. It was a great day when the elevator was installed at the Calhoun Annex giving me access to host my radio show from the studio. That was a great feeling!

Professors and advisors guided me along the way to make sure I stayed on the right track. They believed in me, even when I didn’t believe in myself. I have to give special recognition to Dr. Chris Lamb and Dr. Robert Westerfelhaus, who were my undergraduate and graduate advisors, respectively.

I have too many memories to post here on my blog, but I’m thrilled to be a two-time graduate of the College of Charleston! Cougar Pride!

Alex Jackson and Dr. Westerfelhaus at the Communication Reception. Alex received the Dr. Douglas Ferguson Founder's Award.

Alex Jackson and Dr. Westerfelhaus at the Communication Reception. Alex received the Dr. Douglas Ferguson Founder’s Award.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Reflecting on Life as a College of Charleston Student

  1. gene Reese says:

    Congradulation alex, your my hero 😉

    Like

  2. Roc Tennyson says:

    WAY to GO, Alex!!! Great job! I know that the whole MUSC PHO Family is very proud of your accomplishments. Hugs to you and to Sherron!! – Congratulations! Roc

    Like

  3. bowenm2013 says:

    I am so happy and proud for you Alex. I knew you would accomplish much in life, from the first time I met you when we were looking at you doing the podcasts of Student Life events – way back in ancient history. You are one amazing man. And one fantastic example of what someone can accomplish in life. You are a role model for others who aspire. I am so happy for you, Alex. Another Major Accomplishment for you!

    Like

  4. Ann cario-Hurley says:

    Alex….congratulations….what a man you are. I am blessed to know you. Always an inspiration to me.

    Ann Cario-Hurley

    Like

  5. Anna Blair says:

    Congrats Alex!! You are so inspiring and a gift of God to His people!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Blog Posts of 2014 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

