Putting a Spin on Wheelchair Basketball

This past Saturday, the MUSC Department of Physical Therapy hosted its 3rd annual Shots With A Spin wheelchair basketball tournament.

Teams of able-bodied players participated in the games to help raise money for Achieving Wheelchair Equality (AWE), Charleston’s wheelchair sports organization. Faculty members from MUSC and area therapists were among some of the participants.

One of the biggest highlights of the day was watching the men’s basketball crosstown rivals, College of Charleston v. The Citadel, play against each other in wheelchairs. Several of the players mentioned how much harder it was playing from a chair. As a College of Charleston graduate, I’m proud to say that they won the game.

Later in the day, the “real-deal” wheelchair basketball players competed. The North Charleston Hurricanes played against the Fayetteville Flyers. It’s always exciting to see the athleticism of these players. The Flyers beat out the Hurricanes.

Shots With A Spin has given the Charleston community a chance to see what wheelchair basketball is all about. I can’t wait til next year!

To see photos from this year’s event, go to https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10100842878162414.1073741841.21310342&type=1&l=f574818395

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

