Staying Active for a Healthier Lifestyle

David Quick, a reporter for Charleston’s Post and Courier, wrote an article last week talking about the inactivity of people with disabilities. According to a report released by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, “working-class adults with disabilities who do not get any aerobic physical activity are fifty percent more likely than their active peers to have a chronic disease such as cancer, diabetes, stroke and heart disease.”

Some people may read this news story and think that people with disabilities are too lazy to exercise, but several factors can play into why it’s challenging to stay active. Transportation is one of the most important obstacles that hinder mobility and independence. In the article, James Outlaw shows how determined to go the gym, especially when the cost of using Tel-A-Ride is more than his gym membership.

In addition to getting to the workout facility, there may be only a handful of machines that are accessible to people in wheelchairs. In James’ case, he can transfer to weight benches and other pieces of equipment. However, in my situation, I’d have to find equipment that I can use from my wheelchair.

Regardless of the reasons that may impede someone from exercising, you’ve got to find a way to get it done. Staying active is important for a better quality of life. Take a look at the story below and please share ways you stay active for a healthier lifestyle.

http://www.postandcourier.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=%2F20140623%2FPC1211%2F140629731%2Fcdc-inactive-people-with-disabilities-more-likely-to-develop-cancer-other-chronic-diseases#_=_

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

