Playing Sports with Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Students

Continuing on my theme from last week’s post, I was able to get some exercise in on the tennis court yesterday. I was part of group of wheelchair athletes who demonstrated different sports that can be played from a wheelchair.

While on the tennis court, we showed them how to maneuver their manual chairs while holding on to the racquet. The same rules apply as in standing tennis except that wheelchair players can let the ball bounce twice before hitting it over the net.

This year’s students from MUSC’s Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs teamed up to play basketball, football, tennis and race hand cycles. As they rotated from station to station, the students realized how much effort was needed to play each game. But, the students really enjoyed the opportunity to see how the games are adapted for people with disabilities.

MUSC Physical Therapy Students

MUSC Physical Therapy Students

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing Sports with Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Students

  1. Jill says:

    Alex- it was great playing with you yesterday. Thanks for carrying the team and showing us how it’s done. I was certainly impressed by your serve!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Blog Posts of 2014 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

