Dare Devils on Wheels

I occasionally like the need for speed, but some guys take it to a whole new level. Can you imagine using your wheelchair as if it’s a skateboard and you’re doing tricks on half pipes? Or can you see yourself BASE jumping off bridges and building just for an adrenaline rush?

Aaron Fotheringham

Aaron Fotheringham

Aaron Fotheringham, also known as “Wheelz” does extreme stunts. Fotheringham, 22, has cerebral palsy and has been using a wheelchair since he was three years old. He has performed extreme stunts against some of the greatest BMX riders.

Watch him in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUUVfPy0UgI

From one extreme sport to another, Lonnie Bissonnette is flying high. Bissonnette has a spinal cord injury and is a paraplegic BASE jumper. He acquired his injury from BASE jumping in 2004, but continued to have a passion for the dangerous sport.

Lonnie Bissonnette

Lonnie Bissonnette

ESPN’s Sports Center featured Bissonnette recently as he performed a jump off of the same bridge where he was injured.

Take a look at the video: http://espn.go.com/videohub/video/clip?id=11330555&categoryid=2378529

 

Both Fotheringham and Bissonnette have years of experience with their sports. I don’t recommend trying this at home.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

