New Mobility Options in Charleston

Gabe Klein, a nationally-recognized transportation expert, has been surveying the city to help improve mobility for everyone! Klein has worked in Washington, DC and Chicago. Yesterday, He presented some creative, yet practical, options to community members for pedestrians, bikers, public transit riders and automobile drivers.

He suggests having streetcar lines, bike-sharing programs and using transportation programs like Uber to decrease traffic congestion.

Although he briefly mentioned the Americans with Disabilities Act, the design options seem to foster accessibilility for people with disabilities. Crosswalks and curb cuts will be better; sidewalks will be wider. Overall, I think the ease of maneuverability will improve!

These plans will take several years to implement. However, in the meantime, we can all advocate for improving existing transportation.

I will share additional details from yesterday’s presentation in the next few weeks. To see pictures and videos of Klein’s work, visit http://www.gabeklein.com.

IMG_0247.JPG

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Mobility Options in Charleston

  1. Carolyn says:

    Exciting news, Alex! Looking forward to future info about this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

