How Braille was Created

We’ve all heard the phrase “neccessity is the mother of invention,” but that statement was true for Louis Braille, the inventor of the Braille system for people with vision impairments.

I came accross an article that describes how the then-14-year-old modified an existing code system used by the military in the 1800s to make it useful for who couldn’t see.

Now, braille signs are placed in many places…at elevators, doorways, etc. it’s amazing that something so innovative that can improve the lives of people with disabilities.

Braille allows for people to be more inclusive in their lifestyles, from work, to home and everything in between.

Read more of this remarkable story at http://braillebug.afb.org/louis_braille_bio.asp.

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Braille was Created

  1. karen says:

    Indeed …luv the article ….hugs♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

