Veterans Day and My Week in Review

On Veterans Day, our nation honors the men and women who have served in the United States military. Without their dedication, our country would not have the liberties and freedoms that we have today.

While I am not in the military, it’s been a privilege to work as a civilian for the Department of Navy and SPAWAR. I get to work alongside many veterans who have served our country. Thank you all for your service!

My Week in Review

Reading to students at John L. Dart Library

Reading to students at John L. Dart Library

I read to about 30 kindergartners and first graders at the John L. Dart Library last week. The students were from Carolina Voyager Charter School and New Israel Child Development Center.

I read to them The Little Engine That Could. I also shared my experiences of living with a disability. Using the same theme of determination that’s talked about in the book, I told these young learners that they can accomplish their goals if they stay focused.

The kids really enjoyed looking at my wheelchair, and they had really great questions. I talked to them about how I play tennis and that I love photography.

Speaking of photography, I submitted three photos to the photography competition at the Coastal Carolina Fair. One of my photos, Spirit of the Carolina, received an Honorable Mention. My other photos were a red tulip and a sunset at Brittlebank Park. This was my first year submitting photos to this competition.

Spirit of the Carolina

Spirit of the Carolina

Red Tulip

Red Tulip

Brittlebank Park Sunset

Brittlebank Park Sunset

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veterans Day and My Week in Review

  1. Judith Steele says:

    Hi Alex! WOW is all I can say about your photographs!! These are the only ones I’ve seen of yours other than CofC events. Really nice stuff. Judy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

