The Sam Schmidt Story

You may recognize the name Sam Schmidt from Indy car racing. In 2000, Schmidt was injured in a racing accident with a C-3/4/5 spinal cord injury, leaving him paralyzed from below the neck. Although he uses a wheelchair for mobility, he hasn’t let his disability slow him down, literally!

Schmidt worked with Arrow Electronics to design a race car that he can drive using his head and mouth. He controls the vehicle similarly to how he drives his chair: using a head array system.

Now that Schmidt is not racing, he started the Sam Schmidt Foundation to raise money for a cure for spinal cord injury. He hopes to be able to walk his daughter down the aisle when she gets married.

Here is a video showing a glimpse of Schmidt’s life after injury. He still has a positive outlook on life and loves spending time with his family.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

