Restaurant Impossible

Charleston Restaurant Week is in full swing! From French to Italian to American cuisines, you can surely find something that can whet your appetite.

Even though these palate-pleasing places are located in beautiful, historic buildings, sometimes it’s impossible for wheelchair users and others with disabilities to enjoy these restaurants.

wheelchair accessible door opener

I’ve had to go through the back door and through the kitchen just to be able to get into the building. Another time, a makeshift table was set up on the first floor of a restaurant when the main dining room was on the second floor.

After calling a restaurant to ask if they were wheelchair accessible, the person on the phone said they could accommodate a wheelchair. However, there was one step to get in the door.

With there being so many obstacles, I’m working on a committee to identify the most common barriers for people with disabilities. We want to improve the quality of life those who want to get around town and enjoy the city.

A checklist is being made to account for the most common problems. What are some barriers that you’ve encountered when trying to access your favorite restaurants? Let me know in the comments below. Let’s open some doors and make the impossible possible!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Restaurant Impossible

  1. Molly says:

    Tall counters and bars behind which I cannot be seen or their handicap accessible area being directly in front of the kitchen or bathrooms.

    Like

  2. B.Parent says:

    Mayor Joe Riley…….

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

