“NCIS: New Orleans” Actor Isn’t Just Playing A Role

It’s more than just a television role for actor Daryl Mitchell…it’s real life! Mitchell acquired a spinal cord injury in 2001 after a motorcycle accident left him paralyzed from the chest down.

Daryl Mitchell plays Patton Plame on "NCIS: New Orleans."

Daryl Mitchell plays Patton Plame on “NCIS: New Orleans.”

He plays a security analyst named Patton Plame on the new CBS show, “NCIS: New Orleans.” Mitchell has a device attached to his chair allowing him to carry around his tablet while maneuvering around in his chair.

From a casting perspective, I appreciate seeing the diversity of having a person with a true disability having a major role. It shows others with disabilities that they, too, can have careers ranging from acting to computer science.

Although the roles are becoming more accessible, Mitchell described how one award show venue is inaccessible. Mitchell noted that the Kodak Theater did not have adequate wheelchair seating.

Mitchell is married and has four children. He says humor has helped him cope with becoming a person with a disability. He says, “People associate the wheelchair with being a liability instead of an asset. So when you come in and let everybody know I am just as human as the next person – I drink, I have sex – then the wheelchair starts disappearing.”

Read more about Mitchell and how he lives a fulfilling life with a disability in New Mobility Magazine. You can catch the next episode of “NCIS: New Orleans” tonight at 9/8c on CBS.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “NCIS: New Orleans” Actor Isn’t Just Playing A Role

  1. Diane Epperly says:

    Great post! I didn’t know about this show before I read your blog today.

    Like

  2. Ann cario-Hurley says:

    Love NCIS and love Alex….

    Like

  3. barbdelia says:

    Great info… Thanks for Sharing…
    😍

    Like

  4. marie says:

    I am a fan of you and ncis and I must say you are an inspiration for people not just people with disablitys seeing the strength and character that you display makes me feel like dreams are possible thank you and God bless you

    Like

  5. Pingback: Top 10 blog posts of 2015 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

  6. I respect you as an actor and your great attitude. As a mom, my son’s world turned upside down with a Grand Mall Seizure. I know his good attitude plays a big part in acceptance. God Bless You!

    Like

    • Hi Nancy. Thank you for your kind words, but I’m not the actor in the NCIS show. I enjoy sharing stories about people with disabilities who have roles on TV and movies. I’m glad your son has a good attitude. I’ll pray he continues to do well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

