The Making of a Wheelchair-Accessible Vehicle

There have been a lot of advancements in technology allowing people with disabilities to live as independently as possible. Just within my lifetime, I’ve seen wheelchairs become more streamlined and powerful. Cell phone technology gives us the power to communicate with the world via the internet.

Toyota Sienna RampvanBut one of my favorite pieces of technology is the modification of vehicles. The ability to customize vans and trucks gives people so much independence and freedom. Have you ever wondered how these vehicles become equipped with ramps or lifts?

Conversion companies like VMI and Braun have presented new possibilities for the disability community to travel. Check out the video below to see how a standard mini van gets transformed to be a valuable piece of equipment for myself and others who have disabilities.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

