Permobil Power Trip in Charleston

Permobil LogoPermobil is the leading provider of power wheelchairs with mobility products for complex injuries and diseases. The Power Trip Revolution Tour is traveling around the country demonstrating the latest in power wheelchairs, TiLite manual wheelchairs and accessories. Today, they visited Charleston.

Permobil representative shows participant how to use TiLite standing manual chair. Photo courtesy of Barbara Delia

Permobil representative shows participant how to use TiLite standing manual chair. Photo courtesy of Barbara Delia

Unfortunately, I was not able to make it out there, but have heard great things about the event from a few friends. Participants were able to test drive the newest chairs and try features like seat elevation, tilt and recline.

I have been driving a Permobil Street for the last four years. It is the most comfortable chair I’ve ever had. As much cruising around as I do, I definitely need something that is comfortable and reliable. Just a couple weeks ago, I had to get the front wheels replaced because the rubber had worn, and it was causing a bumpy ride.

As much of a necessity these wheelchairs are for people with severe disabilities, many insurance companies are decreasing the funding for complex rehab. Which means that people will not be have certain features, like seat elevation, which allows them to live more independently. As disability advocates, we have to show legislators how much these chairs help us in our daily lives.

Getting back to the Power trip, the tour will be heading up the East coast to their next stop in Washington, D.C. You can follow Permobil USA at https://www.facebook.com/PermobilUSA.

Permobil Power Trip Tour. Photo Courtesy of Mike Duda, Permobil Sales Manager

Permobil Power Trip Tour. Photo Courtesy of Mike Duda, Permobil Sales Manager

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

