Remembering the Victims of the Emanuel A.M.E. Church Massacre

It’s been almost one week since nine people innocently lost their lives while in Bible study last Wednesday. All of these people were active in their communities and enjoyed spreading the Word of God. It is disheartening to see bad things happen to good people.

Rev. and Sen. Clamenta speaking at a Blue Jamboree rally.

Rev. and Sen. Clamenta speaking at a Blue Jamboree rally.

I didn’t know any of the victims well, but I had the opportunity to photograph Reverend and Senator Clamenta Pinckney at the 2013 Blue Jamboree, a Democratic Party rally held in North Charleston. He definitely had a deep, booming voice that commanded the attention of the crowd.

The outpouring of support by the Charleston community, the state of South Carolina and our entire nation is incredibly heartwarming. To drive past “Mother Emanuel” and see all the people who are paying their respects with flowers and cards shows how this tragic event has shaken the core of the human spirit.

Let us continue to pray for the family and friends of Cynthia Hurd, Susie Jackson, Ethel Lance, DePayne Middleton Doctor, Clamenta Pinckney, Tywanza Sanders, Daniel L. Simmons Sr., Sharonda Singleton and Myra Thompson.

The cover of Sunday's (June 21) Charleston, S.C., Post and Courier newspaper. (Courtesy of Post and Courier)

The cover of Sunday’s (June 21) Charleston, S.C., Post and Courier newspaper. (Courtesy of Post and Courier)

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

